GEM 1835-1876

Description:

Painting of a similar Cutter (artist unknown)

Owner:

Unknown (Capt. Wilcock)

Construction:

Wood, carvel built

Sunk:

18th May 1876

Size:

tons 52, length 20.1m, beam 4.8m, depth 2.6m

Underwater:

The keel and a line of encrusted ribs lay on a sandy bottom and are usually completely covered in dense weed.

Built:

1835 in Cowes, Isle of Wight, U.K.

Location:

Near Phillip Rock, Thomson Bay, approximately 300 metres southeast of Kingston Reef

Sinking:

On 18 May 1876, Gem with Capt. Wilcock was on voyage from Port Irwin to Fremantle with a cargo of 500 bags of wheat and 4 passengers and a crew of 7, when she was lost off Phillip Rock. 11 died.
A cover-up by the harbour-master was suggested because of the discrepancies in the information he gave about the vessel’s position.

Longitude:

115.56143

Latitude:

-31.98768

Gallery

Location

Videos

About Shipwrecks

Find out everything you need to know about the Shipwrecks of Western Australia.
Direct from the archives of the Maritime Archaeology Association of Western Australia.

Follow Us